a d l

about doing less. much of our culture is obsessed with doing work and getting things done. while i’m a huge fan of GTD and other systems (you see, i too am a process person at heart), what i find is that doing more actually leaves me with less. less time for things that really matter, less time for engaging dreams, and definitely less time for dreaming. instead of cramming it in, pulling back to breathe, think, and reflect along the way may cost a little more of my time, but truly gives me more in the end. try doing less.

One Response to “a d l”

  1. You just got tweeted, yo. Good word. Good good.

    I find that I don’t spend much time in the middle of the meadow, between one extreme of process worship and the other of dreamy dreaming.

    I’m either on the dreamy side of the meadow, where dreaming and breathing are packaged and sold as narcotics to help us cope when the GTD monsters come knocking, with lists of MBDs (Must Be Dones), OR I’m on the process side of the meadow, even more pleased with the processes than the end result they are supposed to produce!

    Makes it hard, when one loves process AND dreaming, but there is a place, right in the middle of that field, where we get to dance around the fire and stay warm.

    (drinking)

Leave a comment